June 30, 2022

Narendra Modi is the Prime Ministers of India. He is the 4th Prime Minister of India. Portal provide details of prime ministers of India, Indian President.

prime ministers of india
Narendra Damodardas Modi is an Indian politician serving as the 14th and current Prime Minister of India since 2014. He was the Chief Minister of Gujarat from 2001 to 2014, and is the Member of Parliament for Varanasi.

List of all Prime Ministers of India

Articles 74 and 75 of the constitution of India deal with the Council of Ministers and Prime Minister. Since 1947 to 2016 India has seen 15 Prime Ministers (in persons). Jawahar lal Nehru served the post of Prime Minister for 6130 days followed by the Indira Gandhi- 5829 days and Dr. Manmohan Singh-3656 days.

Article 78 of constitution specify the duties of Prime Ministers of India and in discharging them he acts as a link between President and cabinet.

Article 75 of the Indian Constitution envisages that there will be a Prime Minister who shall be appointed by the President of India. Prime Minister is the leader of the Cabinet Ministers. Main executive powers of the government are vested in the Prime Minister while the President is the nominal head of the State.

Prime Minister of India determines the dates of its meetings and programmes for the Parliament session. He also decides when the house has to be prorogued or dissolved. As a chief spokesman he makes announcement of principal government policies and answers questions on then.

Prime Minister (PM) recommends President regarding the appointment of many officers, he allocates and reshuffles various portfolios among ministers, he presides over the meeting of council of ministers and influences their decision.The PM can ask any member to resign or recommend President to remove any minister.

List of all the Prime Ministers is given below:




Term of office



Jawahar Lal Nehru


5 August 1947-27 May 1964

16 years, 286 days

First prime minister of India and longest serving PM of India, first to die in office.


Gulzarilal Nanda


27 May,1964 to 9 June 1964,

13 days

First acting PM of India


Lal Bahadur Shastri


9 June, 1964 to 11 January 1966

1 year, 216 days

He given slogan of ‘Jai Jawan Jai Kisan’ during Indo-Pak war of 1965


Indira Gandhi


24 January 1966 to 24 March 1977

11 years, 59 days

First lady Prime Minister of India


Morarji Desai


24 March 1977 – 28 July 1979 

2 year, 116 days

Oldest to become PM @ 81 and first to resign from office


Charan Singh


28 July, 1979 to 14 Jan. 1980

170 days

Only PM who did not face the Parliament


Indira Gandhi


14 Jan.1980 to 31 Oct. 1984

4 years, 291 days

First lady who served as PM for second term


Rajiv Gandhi


31 Oct, 1984 to 2 Dec. 1989

5 years, 32 days

Youngest to become PM @ 40 year


V. P. Singh


2 Dec. 1989 to 10 Nov. 1990

343 days

First PM to step down after vote of no confidence


Chandra Shekhar


10 November,1990 to 21 June 1991

223 days

He belongs to  Samajwadi Janata Party


P. V. Narasimha Rao


21 June 1991 to 16 May 1996

4 years, 330 days

First PM from south India


Atal Bihari Vajpayee

(born 1924)

16 May, 1996 to 1 June 1996

16 days

PM for shortest tenure


H. D. Deve Gowda

(born 1933)

1 June, 1996 to 21 April 1997

324 days

He belongs to  Janata Dal


Inder Kumar Gujral


21 April 1997 to 19 March, 1998  332 days



Atal Bihari Vajpayee

(born 1924)

19 March, 1998 to 22 May 2004 

6 years, 64 days

 First non congress PM who completed full term as PM


Manmohan Singh

(born 1932)

22 May 2004 to 26 May 2014   

10 years, 4 May 2 days

 First Sikh PM


Narendra Modi

(born 1950)

26 May 2014, Incumbent

4th Prime Minister of India who served two consecutive tenures

The results of the 17th Lok Sabha elections have been declared on the 23 May 2019. Narendra Modi will be the 15th Prime Minister (in person) of India. He is the 4th Prime Minister of India who would serve two consecutive terms as Prime Minister of India and the first Non Congress Party Prime Minister of India who would complete two consecutive terms.

Click here to Continue With Home Page

Click here to go to the Official Website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.